Applicants must meet the New Zealand ETA requirements for citizens of visa waiver countries to be able to apply for NZeTA.

Regardless of whether they need NZeTA Tourism or an NZeTA Transit, all applicants who want to stay at least 3 months must have a valid passport after the proposed New Zealand departure date. A credit or debit card will also be required to cover the fees.

Please note;
the NZeTA Tourism is only available to passport holders from one of the 60 eligible countries.

Travelers need to be in good health when applying for the NZeTA. Applicants will be asked if they are traveling to the country for medical treatment or consultation. If you are in this situation, you will need to apply for a Medical Treatment Visitor Visa instead.

When requesting for the ETA for New Zealand, travelers will be asked questions about their character. Good character requirements are:

  • No criminal conviction

  • No deportation records

If the New Zealand authorities have reason to believe that the applicant may pose a risk to the security, public order or public interest in the country, the ETA will not be approved.

ETA New Zealand eligible countries

All cruise ship passengers, regardless of nationality, must apply for NZeTA Tourism for Cruise Ships.

Citizens of 60 nationalities are entitled to travel to New Zealand for up to 90 days with the NZ ETA. As of October 2019, it is mandatory to hold a valid NZeTA to travel to the country. Also, citizens of certain countries are required to apply for NZeTa Transit before departure if their flight stops at Auckland International Airport.

Tourism NZeTA eligible countries

Citizens of the following 60 countries are required to apply for the Tourism ETA from October 2019. The tourism visa waiver countries for New Zealand are:

All citizens of the European Union:

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Netherlands

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Romania

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • United Kingdom

Other Countries:

  • Andorra

  • Argentina

  • Bahrain

  • Brazil

  • Brunei

  • Canada

  • Chile

  • Hong Kong

  • Iceland

  • Israel

  • Japan

  • Kuwait

  • Liechtenstein

  • Macau

  • Malaysia

  • Mauritius

  • Mexico

  • Monaco

  • Norway

  • Oman

  • Qatar

  • San Marino

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Seychelles

  • Singapore

  • Republic of South Korea

  • Switzerland

  • Taiwan

  • United Arab Emirates

  • United States

  • Uruguay

  • Vatican City

Transit NZeTA eligible countries

Passport holders from any of the following countries set aside at Auckland International Airport en route to a third country destination are required to apply for NZeTA Transit.

The transit visa waiver countries for New Zealand are:

  • The Bahamas

  • Bermuda

  • Bolivia

  • Colombia

  • Costa Rica

  • Ecuador

  • Federated States of Micronesia

  • Indonesia

  • Kiribati

  • Nauru

  • Palau

  • Panama

  • Papua New Guinea

  • Paraguay

  • Peru

  • Philippines

  • Republic of Marshall Islands

  • Samoa

  • Solomon Islands

  • Thailand

  • Tonga

  • Tuvalu

  • Vanuatu

  • Venezuela

Special Country Conditions:

Passport holders from the following countries must meet the country-specific requirements to apply for ETA:

  • Estonia: Citizens only

  • Hong Kong: Holders of HKSAR Pass or British National-Overseas Pass only

  • Latvia: Citizens only

  • Lithuania: Citizens only

  • Macau: Macau Special Administrative Region pass holders only

  • Portugal: You must have the right to live permanently in Portugal

  • Taiwan: You must have the right to live permanently in Taiwan

  • UK: You must have the right to live permanently in the UK

The following citizens shall be exempt from applying for ETA for travel to New Zealand:

  • Non-cruise vessel crew and passengers

  • Crew officials on a foreign ship carrying goods

  • New Zealand Government Visitors

  • Foreign citizens traveling under the Antarctic Treaty

Passport and ETA requirements for New Zealand

Regardless of the nationality of a citizen, you must hold a valid passport at least 3 months after the proposed departure date from New Zealand.

Travelers who meet the NZeTA requirements specified above can apply for the New Zealand ETA by filling out the form with their details, passport details, and travel information.

This document has been edited with the
instant web content composer
  which can be found at – give it a try.