ETA New Zealand

New Zealand ETA is an electronic travel permit for citizens of visa waiver nations. The NZeTA was introduced in August 2019 and it became an essential entry document from October 2019. Qualified travelers can obtain their NZeTA to travel to New Zealand.

The NZeTA Tourism is compulsory for the following travelers visiting New Zealand:

  • Citizens of the 60 visa waiver countries
  • Cruise travelers of all nationalities

The NZeTA Transit is compulsory for transit travelers who want to stop in New Zealand, but do not have a New Zealand visa.

Citizens from qualified ETA countries and eligible ETA transit travelers can visit New Zealand by completing an online application form.

There is no need to go to an Embassy or ministry. The New Zealand ETA online application  only takes a couple of minutes to complete.

Most applications are processed in one business day, while some applications can take up to three business days to process. Once approved, the ETA is electronically sent to the email address provided by the applicant in their application form.

The New Zealand ETA has a validity of two years from the moment it is issued, and it can be used for multiple visits to New Zealand.

To obtain an NZeTA, applicants need to pay a tourism tax known as the International Visitor Protection and Tourism Levy (IVL).

The IVL was established as a way for visitors to contribute directly to tourism and help protect New Zealand’s natural environment during their stay.

The ETA application form for nationals of visa waiver countries requires applicants to answer questions by entering personal data such as:

  • Full name
  • Address
  • Birthdate
  • Passport details
  • Travel plans

Applicants should answer the health and security-related questions on the New Zealand ETA online application form.

Who needs an ETA for New Zealand?

Currently, nationals of several countries can travel to New Zealand without requiring a visa for up to ninety days. The United Kingdom nationals can visit for up to six months and Australians have residency status on arrival to New Zealand.

The New Zealand ETA for transit or tourism is valid for two years from the date it was granted.

All passport holders from the following 60 countries need an ETA for New Zealand:

All citizens of the European Union:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

Other Countries:

  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Bahrain
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Liechtenstein
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Republic of South Korea
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

NZeTA Specifications:

Australian citizens are exempt from applying for the NZ eTA.

Other exemptions from the New Zealand ETA include:

  • Non-cruise vessel crew and passengers
  • New Zealand Government Visitors
  • Foreign citizens under the Antarctic Treaty
  • Members of your visiting force and related staff.

Travel with ETA in New Zealand for visa waiver citizens

Visiting New Zealand is epic and it is popular as a tourist destination. The scenery is spectacular and was famously used to shoot the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Trips to New Zealand can be relaxing. It is an excellent location for surfing and skiing.

Traveling to New Zealand with an ETA is simple for citizens of visa waiver countries. The process saves visitors the hassle of going to an embassy to obtain a visa. All applicants must meet the basic requirements of ETA and complete the online application before departure.

Visitors to New Zealand are required to show a copy of their ETA to the border authorities on arrival. ETA visa waivers will improve border security as visitors will be screened before leaving for New Zealand.